Posted by: David Stewart | December 10, 2008

Surprised by Particular Fondness

Anyone who knows me will tell you, I’m not a “bandwagon” kind of guy. I’m not particularly an early adopter of new ideas or technology. I am generally distrustful of “movements”. I don’t tend to read the hot “must read” book when it first comes out. I usually wait until the excitement dies down, so I have a chance to absorb the ideas at my own pace.

That said, I heartily endorse “The Shack

A lot of my friends and associates were raving about this book last year, telling everyone how wonderful it is. I see this pattern pop up about once a year or so. So, I expected I would read it eventually, but on a later schedule.

But last month, I was sitting in on some confirmation hearings for someone seeking to be a minister in a more “left leaning” association. And I was really sort of half asleep, I admit. Then the candidate was asked about their position on evil in the world, and how it related to the position expressed in <The Shack.

Suddenly I was wide awake and listening.

It’s important to note that there are few works of art that will so totally infuriate demagogues on both the right and the left, but be embraced by individual people as being deeply, personally memorable. This is one of them.

There are ideas here that are quite personally challenging to me. In fact, I was wrestling with some of the concepts just this morning as I was writing in my personal journal.

There are many sources of pain in our lives, whether we like to admit it or not. This work of fiction gives a new lens to evaluate them and receive comfort in the midst of them.

I picked up a copy at Costco. It’s a good read.

Leave a Reply

Categories

