Posted by: David Stewart | February 24, 2009

All Your Breakfast Now Belong to Us

The world is getting smaller all the time.

Don’t believe me?  Think about it… twenty years ago, both the Russians and Chinese were isolated from the Western culture machine, and probably others.  Now MTV is consuming the world’s uniquenesses and quirks and turning them into a homogeneous mass.

More people are living as transplants and ex-patriots than ever.  But the one thing which retains its unique hold on the world: Breakfast.

For lunch and dinner, transplants can pretty much adjust to the country they happen to be in.  But breakfast is the ultimate comfort food, and probably the last to change.

Check out this blog for a photo description of the typical Chinese breakfast. I admit, I could probably adjust to eating Dim Sum for breakfast, but congee (the clear rice porridge) does not look good to me.

When I travel around the world, the international hotels do their best to cover for this amazing breadth of diversity. For example, my hotel in Beijing where I am staying now has a buffet which includes:

  • American breakfast (cereal, pastries, toast, fruit),
  • English breakfast (eggs, bacon, potatoes),
  • Continental breakfast (sliced meats, cheese, great breads),
  • Japanese breakfast (miso soup, rice)
  • Indian breakfast (curries, tandooris)
  • Chinese breakfast (congee, eggs, dim sum)

And this is not unusual! International hotels the world over must deal with this craziness.

It must be a challenge to provide everyone’s faves in the most important meal of the day.

And for me?  Well, I admit, when I travel, I end up eating cold cereal, with yogurt and fruit, coffee and cold water.  An American at breakfast.

Responses

  1. That is a really interesting observation!

  2. I actually find congee quite tasty, when you’ve put your own toppings on there. Certainly less odd than a raw egg over rice, ala a *very* traditional Japanese breakfast.

    Then again, we all know how odd my eating habits are. 😉

  3. The raw egg on rice thing is also something you find in Korean food, though not I think at breakfast.


Leave a Reply

Categories

