Posted by: David Stewart | June 28, 2010

Oh, the Places You’ll Run

My friend got stuck in Narita, Japan this weekend, due to some airplane equipment problems. It reminded me of an unplanned overnight stay I had there due to a typhoon. In trying to figure out the date of this adventure, I ran across this little blog post I did three years ago.  Here it is, in reprint.

Oh the Places You’ll Run

  • Jul. 21st, 2007 at 2:49 PM

Dave running NYC Marathon

You will come to a place where the streets are not marked. Some windows are lighted. But mostly they’re darked. A place you could sprain both you elbow and chin! Do you dare to stay out? Do you dare to go in? How much can you lose? How much can you win?.” – Dr. Seuss

I feel very fortunate to be able to run, and to generally like it, most days.

I also feel privileged to be able to travel to different places, and generally like that too.

In my 10-miler today, I was comparing notes with a friend on different places we had run. It made me reminisce a little. Running around a neighborhood helps me get to know it a lot better than seeing it through the car windows. Some places I have run:

ChinaBeijing, an 18-miler where I got a little lost, running around the Forbidden City. Hangzhou, running 7 miles around the West Lake. Shanghai sometimes in the old city. Guangzhou. Chengdu. Sanya on Hainan Island, where I got lost and ran through a farming village. Have not run in Nanjing or Dalian but visited there.

CambodiaSiem Reap, ran through part of the Angkor Wat ruins.

ChileSantiago, although I don’t remember it too clearly.

EnglandLondon along the Thames River, Newport in Wales, in a farm outside Salisbury. Didn’t run in York,Cambridge or Stratford-upon-Avon.

FranceParis. One time there I was running near the Eiffel Tower and an old gentleman with a cane smiled his big smile at me, waved and yelled “why the he** you do that?”

GermanyFusen, in castle country, along a nice little creek.

Italy – a 15-miler in Venice, in Florence up to a statue of David on a hill overlooking the city

Japan – In Tokyo one time through Ropongi at 7AM when the bars were still open. In Kyoto. In Narita when I got stuck there because of a typhoon.

Myanmar (Burma) – a 7 mile run around Inya Lake in Rangoon, in Naungschwe on the shores of Inle Lake

Thailand – In Lumphini Park in Bangkok. Up in the hills outside Chiang Mai.

US – Alaska on a cruise ship. Arizona in Phoenix where I once saw a coyote and in the Tucson Marathon. Californiain San Francisco, along The Bay, in LA through Disneyland, in Sacramento in some marathon. Colorado in Denver,Longmont, the Fort Collins Marathon and above Estes Park. Maryland in the Baltimore Marathon. New Mexico inSanta Fe. New York City, NY, particularly around the Reservoir in Central Park. North Carolina in Ashville. San Antonio Texas around the river walk. Virginia near Washington DC where I accidentally dripped sweat over a balcony.Washington State in the Capital Cities Marathon.

Oh yeah, in Oregon.
ETA:  Places I have been to did not run there: Brazil, Paraguay, Columbia, Costa Rica, Mexico, Canada, Korea, Singapore, Hong Kong, India, New Jersey, South Carolina, New Hampshire, Mass., Wyoming, Montana, Florida, Georgia

Leave a Reply

Categories

