Posted by: David Stewart | July 20, 2010

A good value Pinot Noir

Quick wine value tip: Belle Pente 2008 Willamette Valley Pinot Noir, a great tasting wine at a terrific price, $17.70 at Vinopolis, Portland.

Belle Ponte 2008 Willamette Valley Pinky Noir

Those who know me, know I like a full-bodied wine like a Cabernet or Zinfandel. But the Pinot Noir in Oregon is the signature wine of the Willamette Valley. It is delicate and usually quite special. But it is also a fairly expensive wine. There are California Cabernets which are more expensive, but I wouldn’t buy one of those either.

Belle Pente Vineyards is a terrific winery outside Carlton that my wine-loving friends Joe and Sandra clued me into. We have loved and bought their whites and reds and a few of their more expensive Pinot’s.

The 2007 year in the Valley wasn’t great, but 2008 has shown a lot of promise. I saw this wine pop up on Vinopolis’ weekly mailing list at $17.70, I thought it was worth a try.

I bought a couple of bottles to take to a dinner, and someone there thought it was a $50 per bottle wine. Although that might have been a bit over the top, it was quite good. So I got three bottles for a party we threw, and it was gone instantly.

So stock up! This is a great wine value if you like Pinot Noir. I can’t say how much someone else might charge. If you get a chance to visit the winery, just remember that you need to set an appointment in advance if you want to taste their wines.

Responses

  1. Actually, according to the label, it’s Belle Pente, not Belle Ponte…..just sayin’

  2. Oooops – good point, @Deb. “Pente” is supposedly pronounced “Pont”, so I often goof up the spelling unconsciously. Of course, my spelling isn’t the best anyway…


Leave a Reply

Categories

