Posted by: David Stewart | November 10, 2010

Cats in China

OK, this is a big topic. So buckle up, sports fans!

· I don’t think I have ever seen very many cats around China, but this morning on my early run, I encountered three of them. Why the sudden increase?

· It’s true that people in China eat meat from some animals that we don’t typically eat in the West. I have eaten bullfrog, donkey, jellyfish, blowfish and all kinds of seafood. But never eaten a cat, to my knowledge. (Or dog, for that matter, even though it’s more common).

· I was told that cats are a lot more popular now as a pet in China. When I asked why, I was told it was due to an episode of “The Big Bang Theory”. I think the episode they are thinking of is when super-geek Sheldon breaks up with his girlfriend and then adopts a bunch of cats to keep him company.

· My friend John St. Clair asked me to discover what cats say in China when he heard that I was coming over here. He has a cat who gets really noisy when he wants to be fed. He wanted me to go into someone’s house and see if their cats say something different in Chinese.

· When I was on my run this morning in urban Shanghai, I was running past some bushes and heard a really loud “Mee-ow” call repeated, I assume by a hungry kitty. It did sound somewhat different from the cats in America.

· So I asked someone here what cats say in China. He said: “miao”. There you go, John.

Will cats remain popular in China? I mean, as a pet and not fried up in some dough?

Responses

  1. I love animal sounds in different languages/cultures. So different, but they still work! (Japanese cats says nya!)


Leave a Reply

Categories

