Posted by: David Stewart | June 7, 2011

Peace and Quiet in Electric Tokyo

I had a few extra hours last Saturday morning in Tokyo before I took off on my flight back home, and my friend Masafumi Ohta recommended that I check out Rikugi-en, a nice Japanese style garden near the Hongo station. The park was mentioned in the Rough Guide of Tokyo that I was using on the trip, and it’s about a 10 minute walk from a JR station, so it was an easy thing to check out.

Quiet, peaceful garden with nice reflections, just a few steps away from frenetic Tokyo. It was built some centuries ago to represent some 88 classic landscape views. Some photos below, more on my Flickr site.

For a complete change in pace, I rode the JR train to Akihabara and immersed in Tokyo geek culture. Plenty of male otaku and a few women in anime costumes. Over the top as always.

I had hoped to stop by my favorite camera store in Shinjuku, but simply ran out of time. I picked up my luggage that I had checked into a locker in Shibuya Station and I hopped on a train (the Narita Express) for the airport.

 

Rikugi-en - Tokyo Garden Rikugi-en - Tokyo Garden Rikugi-en - Tokyo Garden Rikugi-en - Tokyo Garden Rikugi-en - Tokyo Garden Rikugi-en - Tokyo Garden

Leave a Reply

Categories

