Posted by: David Stewart | December 9, 2011

The after-work run: the genius way to quick-prep as you dash out the door

I don’t know why I never thought of this before.

I work at a nice office building in a suburb which is about 17 or 18 miles west of downtown Portland, Oregon. My favorite running locations are in downtown and usually if I am meeting someone for a run it will be downtown.

For a long time, I was doing all of my track work on Tuesday evenings on a track in downtown.

The problem is: how do I change from my normal work clothes to running clothes? The track downtown has some cruddy bathrooms, and I have done my changes there before. Not a great option. But I don’t really want to do the complete change in the bathroom at work.

Finally – I have a solution. I bring in my running shorts to work with me, and swap between my underwear to running shorts in the bathroom before I jet out the door.

With the more modest part of the operation done, I can easily change in the car after I have parked it downtown without resorting to a bathroom.

It works perfectly. Note that I try to avoid changing while I am driving – I have done this once or twice when I was running late, and that’s a big mistake.

Leave a Reply

Categories

