Posted by: David Stewart | April 18, 2012

Roosters and running

When is the best time to run?

Runner’s World was going pretty strongly there for a while advocating morning runs, suggesting how to make them work for you. I used to do my runs in the morning all the time. After all, that way you could accomplish right away the hardest thing you would have to do all day.

I had it down to a science:

  • Roll out of bed
  • Dress for the weather
  • Flip on the brightest lights in the kitchen
  • Fire up a double espresso and slurp it down with one half of a Cliff Bar.
  • Put my Garmin GPS on the front porch to locate satellites while I take care of bathroom stuff
  • Charge out the door

Now, all of that sounds really organized and efficient. The way it would usually go is:

  • Alarm goes off at 5:00AM
  • Drag into the bathroom, try to convince myself I shouldn’t skip my run
  • Sit down to tie my shoes, that was a mistake, how am I going to stand up again?
  • Will I really feel like running after my coffee?

And so on.

Lately I have been having morning meetings, for the past 10 days or so we have had daily 7:00AM meetings.  If I’m running for an hour or more and it takes at least 30 – 35 minutes to drive to work, that doesn’t leave a lot of time.

So I have switched to the after-work run. Seems to fit a little better, and I can shower before bed and save a little time in the morning.

Leave a Reply

Categories

