Posted by: David Stewart | August 29, 2012

Stop whining about Hood to Coast, Princess

I was commenting a bit on Social Not-working about how hard my Hood to Coast legs were and according to private comments to my wife, I was being perceived as whining.

“Suck it up, Princess.”

In previous years running H2C, I was more than willing to pick the hardest legs of the race. This year I have been suffering some bad injuries, so I was particularly feeling vulnerable.

Just to illustrate what i’m talking about, here is the table which shows details of all the H2C legs. I had “leg 5”, which really means I was running legs 5, 17 and 29. I don’t know the formula used to calculate difficulty. I know I have created spreadsheets like this myself in previous years.

You would think that a run from a mountain to the sea shore should be a downhill race. You really wouldn’t want to run it the other way, though there are often teams who do. In fact, only the first three to four legs are downhill. After leg 4, you get  lot of variety.

Leg 5

Not a bad little uphill. This leg starts out on a major highway (US 26) then cuts off into the woods for a very pretty country lane around Cherryville, Oregon.  But this one is rated “Very Hard” probably due to the uphill.

Leg 17

No problem here – you couldn’t ask for anything flatter. Again this is all along a highway (US 30) which runs along an invisible Columbia River between the hamlets of Scappoose and Saint Helens.  This was the route that had the extra 1.88 miles added, most of it uphill and at the end. The detour was due to a major fire at a car tire shop, so I have no problem with it. Interesting because I was just meditating during the early part of the run that they could boost the total mileage of the race from 199 to 200 miles if they just added some extra little distance on one of the legs. “But I would pity the poor runner who had to do the extra mile.” Um, right.

Leg 29

Someone from another team had a bull horn with them, and at exchange 28 was calling out “You should thank your leg 5 runner because they have to run TP Hill and you don’t.” But the whole run up was really very nice with waterfalls, creeks and a glorious sunrise breaking over the hill. Awesome! And, yeah there is a little downhill at the end which didn’t punish my Plantar Fascia too much.

All in all, less overall percentage elevation rise than the Fueled by Fine Wine race in June (about 3190 feet over 21 miles, versus 2400 feet over 13.1). Definitely better running surface (roads versus vineyards). And I’m not re-injured.

So, sorry for the whining!

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

